Top 5 November Reads


By Brooke Ehmann-Jones

November 5, 2021

Here are some tantalizing reads that will keep you on the edge of your seat, but also give you great adventures to snuggle up with as the month goes by. 

Love Hate & Other Filters 

By: Samira Ahmed

American-born Muslim teen Maya Aziz must cope with Islamophobia, cultural divides between parents and peers, and being affected by the backlash of a terrorist attack similar to that of 9/11. Maya is torn between being the good Indian daughter her parents expect her to be (attending college close to home and marrying an older Muslim boy who her mom considers suitable), and following her dreams of going to film school in New York City and pursuing her long-time crush. If that wasn’t enough, problems escalate when a horrific crime is committed, filling her community with fear, prejudice, and hatred. Maya’s world is turned upside down, her future looking as hopeless as ever, but she must find her way, and decide where she truly belongs. 

Dorothy Must Die 

By: Danielle Paige

High schooler Amy Gumm has a depressing life in Kansas, facing a negligent mother and bullies at school. Her world is quite literally swept away when a tornado hits her town and transports her to the Land of Oz. However, Oz is not the same Oz Amy has read about in books. She has many encounters with the people of Oz and finds out the despairing state their world has fallen into after Dorothy returned. An opportunity presents itself that she must take if she ever has any hope of returning home. She pushes on getting caught up in the plots and schemes of Oz’s inner workings. Through this journey, she makes allies and enemies, helps the people of Oz in any way she can all the while redefining her perception of good and wicked, and battling her conscience with the ultimate looming decision that will change both of her worlds.

This book is the first in a series of four. Next in the series are The Wicked Will Rise, Yellow Brick War, and The End of Oz., all following the story of Amy Gumm as she embarks on a journey through a twisted fairy tale full of betrayals and friendships, vicious tyranny, and a world in shambles, and all the while, Amy tries to find herself and where she truly belongs.

Monday’s Not Coming 

By: Tiffany D. Jackson

Claudia’s best friend Monday is missing. She asks her parents, classmates, teachers, and even the police to help her find her but nothing happens. Either they just won’t tell her, or no one really knows. Throughout this book, Claudia investigates her friend’s absence all the while facing challenges with school and her social life. Monday is like a sister to her, so she will not give up, even when she starts to doubt their friendship. As she dives further into her investigation, what she finds will change her and her community forever. 

This gut-wrenching book brings up serious issues of abuse, bullying, poverty, and disabilities, but also shows us true, unbreakable friendship as Claudia fights to find her friend. 


By: Marissa Meyer

This futuristic, dystopian novel is about the story of Cinder, a sixteen-year-old cyborg living in a post-World War 4 Beijing. There is more to the mysterious childhood accident that leaves her a cyborg than she realized, and she must find out what really happened to truly understand her past and the twisted path her life is taking. She has enough problems at home with her cruel stepmother and adoptive family and the constant reminder that she does not belong because of her cyborg status, especially when people of high esteem at the palace start to take interest in her. 

This book is loosely inspired by the story of Cinderella and explores the cruelties of society and status, futuristic technology, and the battles of people in power. This is the first book in the Lunar Chronicles series all following the path of heroines, also vaguely based off of fairy tale classics, facing drastically different lives in the same world, which all tie together in a spectacular finale. The next in the series are Scarlet, Cress, and Winter. There are also two series add-ons: Fairest and Stars Above, giving you deeper insight into this complex world. 


By: Scott Westerfeld

Uglies, which is set in a dystopian world where they refer to the people who lived on Earth prior to their existence as “Rusties” follows the journey of Tally Youngblood, a rebellious teen in a conforming society. There are two types of people in her world, Uglies and Pretties. Everyone is born an Ugly, but the dream is to be a Pretty. They were taught in school that in the Rusties time, everyone was ugly their entire life, and experienced racism and discrimination based on their looks. The solution was to make everyone pretty, therefore, equal in society. Tally can’t wait until she turns 16, which is the age you can get the operation to turn Pretty, but as her birthday arrives, she finds herself mixed up in a situation that could end her chances of ever becoming Pretty. She finds herself in a place where there is no Pretty or Ugly status, glimpsing a world so different from her own, changing her perception of society entirely. However, powerful forces are at play and she must make the ultimate decision that will change her and her world forever. 

This book is the first in a series of four, all following the path of Tally Youngblood, the major changes she goes through both physically and mentally, the betrayals and heartbreaks she faces, and the dangerous secrets she gets her and her friends mixed up in as she rebels against society and breaks the barriers it has set. The next books in this series are Pretties, Specials, and Extras.

You can find these books in the library, so dive in and enjoy this cozy season with these amazing reads!